Jupiter’s Rooster 0301: The Beginning of The End

Credit: StarzSpartacus returns! As Spartacus’ army grows, concerns about the well being of his people surface. Hoping to kill the morale of the Roman army, Spartacus devises a plan to decisively strike the Roman commanders. Away in Rome, Marcus Crassus is beckoned to join the Roman cause. It is evident that his patience, cunning, and sharply strategic mind will provide a formidable opponent for our heroes.

Download Episode 0301

This entry was posted in Podcast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jupiter’s Rooster 0301: The Beginning of The End

  1. Totally agree on the lack of flash-back at the start of the episode, it’s been a long time since I watched the end of Season 2 and I thought it was weird I got very little flash-back from the previous season.

    The opening scene was bloody as hell, which is what a lot of people expect from the show, but they tried to do this greek-gods-artistic-background-fight-scene kind of thing that made it feel fake to me.

    I really like the new Crassus character, they did a good job developing that character in this first episode.

  2. Swift says:

    I understand that this is a FICTIONALIZED story, but do you? I ask because all the fawning over the Crassius CHARACTER is disturbing when compared to the ACTUAL Marcus Crassius. The actual MC was a bastard of the first order. He was petty and spiteful. He didn’t win because he respected his adversary, he won because he sacrificed entire towns. He then went and bought the destroyed property cheap. On the History of Rome podcast MC is described as someone who “would haggle over the price of throwing a drowning man a line”.

    There was a reason neither of the previous Generals wanted to ask him for help except as a last resort. The writers have done an excellent job of giving Spartacus a rival. Finally someone to truly test our hero, Unfortunately, we know how this has to end. If you think this beginning is brutal wait until you see 100,000 crucifixions from the toe of Italy to the gates of Rome.

    • Roberto says:

      Thanks for your comment, Swift. Indeed, my admiration is for the fictionalized characterization of Crassus, not the real person. I think he infuses the series with an adversary that was sorely needed in the show. I don’t think the creators of the show are aiming for historical accuracy, so I treat what I see in the show as historical fiction and pure entertainment. I’m sure the historical Crassus must have been pretty despicable man.

      • Chris M says:

        Wait, you mean Spartacus didn’t actually charge a Roman “Testudo” formation alone on horseback, slaughtering dozens of Roman soldiers singlehandedly? Get the **** out!

        The series has been ruined for me now.

      • Roberto says:

        Sorry to break it to your, Chris. He also didn’t lob off two heads at the same time. 😉

  3. Chris M says:

    “MAN WHO KILLED SEDULLUS IS GREAT WARRIOR!”

    I’m going to split the baby a bit on my reaction to this season’s premier. On the one hand, I agree with John – this episode was completely over the top with blood, gore, and violence, even by the usual Spartacus standards. And while it was obviously a stylistic choice to literally ram us back into the world of the show, it came close to being self parody. I actually said out loud at one point in the first few minutes, “you’ve got to be kidding me” as even more buckets of the (strangely thin and sometimes computer generated) blood splashed over everyone and everything. Save for a few notable exceptions the dialogue wasn’t consistently excellent and there simply don’t appear to be any intrigues or strong subplots within Spartacus’s army. I hope the Spartacus side of the plot doesn’t become rote but I’m having a difficult time seeing what they have planned there to keep the audience as engaged as in the past.

    On the other hand, I enjoyed this episode more than any of the first half of the season two episodes. Crassus is a phenomenally developed character already and a massive upgrade from the cardboard cutout villain that Glaber was. I also thought the scene between Gannicus and Spartacus in the tent was fantastic. And while I think this episode was easily the best work by Liam McIntyre so far in the series, it’s becoming more apparent to me that the writers are still leaning heavily on the notion that personal gravitas and the onscreen presence of the actor in the Spartacus role is what fundamentally makes the character compelling, as opposed to what he does and says. Andy Whitfield had that in spades and it just doesn’t seem to be there to the same extent with Liam. I keep thinking, “shouldn’t Spartacus be doing or saying something more interesting or compelling here?” while also thinking that Whitfield going through the same motions would have felt more weighty or complete.

    All of that having been said, it’s a lot of fun to have Spartacus back on the air and I’m looking forward to enjoying the story that’s left to be told, even if it’s truly a fundamentally different show than Blood and Sand and Gods of the Arena. On balance last season was a pretty big disappointment, and while I’m not sure if that has led me to expect less out of the show, I already feel like this season looks like it will be better than that one.

Leave a Reply

